Jailbird Nocturne Screenshot

When I wrote the walkthrough for Jailbird Nocturne, I came across a short cutscene I had written years ago that never triggered due to a bug. I'm glad I discovered it before releasing the game, because it contains peak sqwabbling between Agnes and Bleucifer.

I'm a little late to blogging about it, but I released Jailbird Nocturne a few days ago!

You can learn more about the game and download it from its itch page.

As much as I'd like to write about it, I am trying to walk a fine line between promoting the game and letting myself rest from working on such a gargantuan, nearly 4-year-long project. Moreso than anywhere else I've shared it, if you're on this particular web page, you either already know about the game, or you aren't afraid of clicking on a hyperlink to learn about it. If you already played Danger Zone Friends and want to learn about what to expect in the sequel, then this dev log is for you.

You can stream the game's soundtrack on Soundcloud, but if you donate $4 or more when downloading the game, you can download the soundtrack and a pdf walkthrough of the game as thanks!

I do want to document real quick that if you played the game over the past few days and got an error message saying "RPG Maker VX Ace RTP required to play," that has been fixed as of this morning. Redownload the game and it should work!

Jailbird Nocturne Screenshot

While I'm here, I want to give a quick thank you to everybody who's supported me over the course of the project. From the friends who provided live playtest sessions, to ones who kept asking me about the project every week, you all helped make the game better and kept me going, especially over the past year of development. Starting the game during COVID and continuing work on it throughout grad school was a comparatively private and lonely affair, and I think having folks since then offer active interest and support during the previous year made a huge difference.

Thank you to Lisa. Jailbird Nocturne and Danger Zone Friend's setting ultimately spawned from our inside jokes and your initial birthday wish six (seven?) years ago for a "cute game with animals in it." Thanks for editing and proofreading both games and being the playtester who perservered through both games at their least fine-tuned, most challenging states. We'll see if you still keep up with my blog :p.

Finally, thanks to the friends and strangers who played Danger Zone Friends and voiced their love for the game - you were the ones who ultimately convinced me that making a full-length sequel was worth it! More than anyone else, I think, this game is for you.

I hope you enjoy Jailbird Nocturne!


Comments